The Daily Reckoning

Imagine you have a friend who is completely unfamiliar with economics. Imagine further that he says he is going to read exactly 99 pages of economics and no more. What would you suggest that he read? I submit that Faustino Ballve’s Essentials of Economics: A Brief Survey of Principles and Policies would be an excellent candidate.

The book offers an admirable combination of breadth and brevity, and it delivers on everything promised in the title. The reader will come away with a brief survey of the essential principles of our beloved dismal science, a bit of familiarity with the intellectual genealogy of some of the ideas, and a handful of applications. At 99 pages, Essentials of Economics is a masterpiece of efficient communication of economic ideas.

It is an ideal introduction to economic thinking for people who haven’t the time or the inclination to conquer such massive tomes as Human Action, The Wealth of Nations, or Man, Economy, and State — though I suspect that the uninitiated reader with Essentials of Economics on his nightstand or e-reader for a few days will be much more likely to read further.

By the end of the book, the reader should be convinced that, in the words of Gustavo R. Velasco’s preface to the Spanish edition, “It is not possible to escape from economics.” Ballve’s method follows in the tradition of the economists working then (and now) in the tradition of Carl Menger and Ludwig von Mises.

He begins from a set of very simple postulates — scarcity and action — and deduces from these a body of propositions that help us make sense of the world around us. Ballve writes with a passion and verve that makes sometimes dry concepts come to life. In the course of 10 short chapters, he explains to the reader what economics studies, how markets work, what entrepreneurs do, how income flows to factors of production, the origins of money and credit, the origins of business cycles, and the fallacies of protectionism, nationalism, socialism, and interventionism.

While reading, I was continually impressed with the problems we face as teachers, scholars, economic communicators, and citizens. Research on public opinion and public policy — like Bryan Caplan’s 2007 The Myth of the Rational Voter, for example — suggests that the fundamental problem with economic knowledge is not that many voters don’t understand the fine points, nuances, and subtleties of sophisticated macroeconomic models.

Rather, from all appearances, it looks like voters take issue with the most basic ideas in economics: People respond to incentives, resources are scarce, and trade creates wealth. Without getting bombastic or unnecessarily strident, Ballve reminds us how important these principles are in a translation that absolutely sparkles.

Much of what Ballve wrote will seem obvious today, and some readers might find his criticism of econometrics somewhat dated. It is important to remember the context in which Ballve was writing. The book first appeared in Mexico in the 1950s and in English in the early 1960s. The consensus at the time, even among professional economists, was that Mises and Hayek had lost the socialist-calculation debate. Keynesian macroeconomics ruled the roost.

Ballve stepped into this environment and produced a very short, power-packed volume that offers an unapologetic defense of markets and liberty that relies not on a stubborn refusal to remove ideological blinders, but on a nuanced understanding of the sciences of human action. Speaking of which, readers familiar with Mises’ Human Action and Adam Smith’s The Wealth of Nations will find much in this book that they recognize; indeed, there were times I felt like I was actually reading Mises or Smith.

For the uninitiated reader, it is a fantastic introduction. For the expert, it is a valuable refresher. For everyone, it is a valuable addition to any reading list. I expect to return to my notes on it quite frequently.

In short, Essentials of Economics is a book that any economist would be proud to have written. It offers a valuable corrective to the errors that inform too many policies. If we take Ballve’s lessons to heart, we can perhaps fix some of the damage done by policies made by those who either do not understand economics or reject it outright. At the very least, we can avoid making bad situations worse.

That Essentials of Economics has not received more attention than it has is curious, if not scandalous. I hope that this new Laissez Faire Books edition will remedy that. The world will certainly be better for it.

Sincerely,
Art Carden

Original article posted Laissez-Faire Today 

The Daily Reckoning

It's hard to believe that more than ten years have gone by since we began writing The Daily Reckoning out of a Paris office back in July of 1999?

Since then, a lot has changed. We have seen the dot com boom and bust... a massive expansion of credit...real estate mania and meltdown?and epic highs and lows in the markets.

Nothing about the past ten years has been boring. And we have been there throughout, trying to help readers make some sense out of our global economy. And hopefully providing a few laughs along the way.

In short, we pen The Daily Reckoning each day -- for free -- to show you how to live well in uncertain times. We aim to make each article the most entertaining 15-minute read of your day.

Recent Articles

5 Min. Forecast
Bold Predictions from the Bubble Crowd

Dave Gonigam

Even if tech giants like Facebook and Apple have a down day now and then, that doesn't mean they aren't still sound companies with upside potential. Of course, some people aren't convinced... which is why the word "bubble" has now reentered the conversation. Dave Gonigam has the full story...


The Price Floor That’s Key to Gold Mining Profits

Matt Insley

Gold has had a rough go of it since the 2008 financial crisis. But according to Matt Insley, there is now a very clear price floor for the yellow metal. And what's more interesting, he comes to this conclusion by way of a glass of chocolate milk and Janet Yellen's actions from here throne at the Eccles Building. Read on...


Why You Should Tune-Out the Talk of a Tech Bubble

Paul Mampilly

The recent spate of new tech-based IPOs has a few prominent investors (Ahem... David Einhorn) touting the return of the '90s tech bubble. But there are some very good reasons why this market is nothing like the '90s, and why investors should be wary of any advice to the contrary. Paul Mampilly explains...


The Scariest Thing You Don’t Know About Generic Drugs

David Eifrig

Generic drugs are supposed to lower healthcare costs and provide you with another medical alternative. That's what it says on paper. But there's a real danger that goes along with these drugs. A danger even your doctor might not be aware of... Dr. David Eifrig has the full story. Read on...


An Unlikely Source of Dirt-Cheap Energy

Greg Guenthner

The solar panel turns 60 on Friday, but this birthday celebration will be unlike any other the industry has seen so far. In the past, solar energy's high price tag meant its wide-spread usage was nothing more than a pipe dream. But now, after six decades, solar power may finally be cheaper than oil and Asian liquefied-natural-gas. Greg Guenthner has more...